Bom apetite! – Portugal

Portugal: Frango na pucara (chicken in a pot), punched potatoes and arroz doce (sweet rice pudding)

portugal-flagPortugal is one (of many) countries that I would love to visit someday. I can speak a few words of Portuguese, so it made it extra fun to cook Portuguese food and have some sense of how to pronounce the names of the dishes I made!

The entree I made is frango na pucara (frango is “chicken” in Portuguese). I combined different aspects of several recipes, but the primary one is I used is here. This is a hearty, warm, comforting one-pot stew. Although it’s supposed to be made in a clay pot, my Dutch oven worked just fine.

DSCN2198

DSCN2199 DSCN2207 DSCN2209 DSCN2210 DSCN2211The chicken is braised for almost two hours and is really delicious. Also, cleanup is easy and it makes the kitchen smell amazing!

Potatoes are often served with this dish, and I found a fun recipe: Punched potatoes! You literally punch the potatoes! This cracked me up. You use baby yellow potatoes, which are so darn cute. First you boil them, then spread them on a baking sheet and punch them before sprinkling them with salt and olive oil to then roast in the oven. I punched one of them and hurt my knuckle, so decided to use a spoon to “punch” the rest 🙂 .DSCN2191 DSCN2200 DSCN2204 DSCN2205 DSCN2214These are inexpensive, easy, tasty, and fun to eat!

For dessert I made arroz doce, with means “sweet rice” and is a sweet rice pudding made on the stovetop. I love rice pudding, and although this was a bit sweeter than I usually like things, the lemon in it is so wonderful. You use lemon peel slices to scent the rice while it cooks, and it makes for great flavor.

DSCN2183 DSCN2184 DSCN2189 DSCN2196

I used this recipe which included the tip on how to make cinnamon circles on top of the pudding. Cute, huh? This recipe suggested serving the arroz doce with grilled mandarins. I broiled mine instead, and the carmelized mandarins added a nice bitter complement to the sweetness of the pudding. I also served it with raspberries because I love lemon and raspberry together.

DSCN2190 DSCN2194 DSCN2215 DSCN2216Of course, we had to have Portuguese wine and crusty bread with dinner.

DSCN2188Dinner was delicious! And girls’ night was really fun.

DSCN2213 DSCN2212Notes for next time:

One of the recipes for the frango called for red pepper flakes, and I wish I had used them, but I didn’t. I think that would have added a nice kick to the stew – it was flavorful but would have been even better with some heat. The rice pudding was really sweet, I would use less sugar next time. Also, the recipe makes a lot of rice pudding, so unless you’re feeding a crowd, halve the recipe.

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bom apetite! – Portugal

  1. Dar says:

    Love love love it – what a great name – Frango and spec like your “could have used more HEAT” – my daughter – also liked the Chiconia – you are your Daddy’s Daughter – you make me PROUD

Leave a Reply

