Buon appetito!


Italy: Homemade pasta

This was a special meal for several reasons. First, when I initially had the idea to do this couch cuisine project, one of my first thoughts was to do an Italian meal of making homemade pasta and having a big group of friends come and bring other dishes to share. I received a Kitchen Aid mixer from my awesome extended family for my graduation and a pasta attachment from my parents for Christmas so making homemade pasta became much more feasible. Second, as mentioned in my Greece post, my parents and I are going to Europe for my graduation gift, and Rome is the first stop! So making Italian food in advance of going to Italy and eating lots of Italian food is fun. Third, I turned 30 this year, and as I reflected on the things that make me happiest, I realized hosting friends and cooking for them is one of those. My friend Angela’s birthday is a week after mine, so we decided to have a joint birthday party and cook for friends. She’s an amazing cook so it was really fun to cook together, along with our friend Rae who helped us cook for hours. Here are the birthday girls:

You can see at the bottom of the picture is PASTA! It worked! Our backup plan was to run up the street to the store and buy pasta, but fortunately we didn’t have to do that. Here is our array of ingredients.

And the star of the show, the Kitchenaid mixer and pasta attachments that make pasta making really quite easy…

…and turn this…

into this:

We made spinach pasta (green, in honor St. Patrick’s Day since we held our Italian feast on March 17), whole wheat pasta and plain pasta. I used the recipes that came with the pasta attachments for the spinach and plan pastas, and we used a recipe from a Food and Wine magazine for the whole wheat pasta, which I can’t find the recipe for online. We used sheets of plain pasta to make meat ravioli and sage and goat cheese ravioli (which was my favorite). We also made a red, white and green sauce in honor of the Italian flag: marinara, pesto and alfredo.

Here I am so excited that the pasta is working!!

Delicious sauces:

More pasta pics:

The ravioli was not done (actually had not even been started!) by the time guests started arriving, and everyone was so gracious in helping make the ravioli.

As you can see from this picture, the fettucini was super long! Next time, I should cut the sheet of pasta in half before making it into fettucini.

It was a wonderful evening. The food was delicious, everyone brought food or drinks to share, and it was just a great celebration. Here are pics from the evening:

Notes for Next Time:

Everything was delicious. Making 8 pounds of pasta in one day, so some of the dough got a bit dried out, but it really was quite simple and fun.

Bring on Italy!

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buon appetito!

  1. Dar- says:

    lf your readers were able to see the size of your kitchen, especially the stove and sink area, you would be up for a Nobel 🙂 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    Homemade pasta looks delicious! I’ve always wanted to try it! I have a recipe for homemade gnocchi and haven’t attempted it yet!

    • couchcuisine says:

      I was in Italy in the beginning of the summer and took a cooking class in Rome and we learned how to make gnocchi. The chef said the most important thing about making good gnocchi is using old potatoes. So, when you make it keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

