Smaklig måltid! – Sweden

Sweden: Swedish Meatballs and Swedish Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Swedish food is Swedish meatballs. That may be because of Ikea’s good marketing skills, but from my research it seems that it’s quite a popular dish in Sweden, not just in retail stores in the U.S.

Here’s the recipe I used:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Swedish-Meatballs-350172

And the ingredients:

I had a leftover baguette, so I put that in the food processor and voila, breadcrumbs. Mixing everything together I realized this is my first time making homemade meatballs of any kind.

Thanks to Melissa, a picture of me cooking:


Once the meatballs are done, make the simple sauce this is totally delicious.

Return the meatballs to the sauce, and it’s ready! Really quite easy.

Swedish meatballs should be served with tart lingonberry sauce, but I could not find lingonberries, so I served it with cranberry sauce, which worked fine. However, over dinner Melissa had the brilliant idea that you could go to Ikea to get lingonberries! Next time.

The meatballs were really delicious. Very flavorful and such a treat.

I was thrilled to find out that rhubarb pie is common in Sweden! I love rhubarb and it’s currently the end of rhubarb season where I live and I hadn’t yet baked with it this season, so it was the perfect opportunity to make rhubarb pie. Smördegspaj is a butter dough based pie common in Sweden, and I used this recipe for Swedish Strawberry and Rhubarb Pie:

http://www.greasypot.com/swedish-rhubarb-strawberry-pie/

Now, my mom makes the best pies I’ve ever had and I love her pie dough. This recipe is very different, though, a butter pie dough with eggs. It’s a very different consistency and does not roll out like pie dough I’m used to. Instead, it’s very sticky and pressed into the pie pan. It was very easy to make and tasty! Though, of course, does not hold a candle to my mom’s famous cherry raspberry rhubarb pie 🙂

So pretty, both before and after baking. Nothing like fresh, seasonal fruit.

Melissa and her beautiful new baby James came over for dinner. Isn’t he a cutie?

Melissa and I had a really lovely evening together. SO grateful for friends!

Notes for Next Time:

The meatballs and pie were both really delicious, I would make both recipes again for sure! Next time go to Ikea and get lingonberries!

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smaklig måltid! – Sweden

  1. Dd- says:

    Not too sure bout lingonberries but very sure bout Momma’s strawberry-raspberry-rhubarb pies – btw did the little guy get anything??? btw2 – meatballs looked great – btw3 – amazing what you do in that LITTLE KITCHEN!!!!!!!

    dd-

  2. vintagejenta says:

    Dude – next time? Do the meatballs in the oven. SOOOO much easier and WAY less messy than trying to fry them. You can also cook all of them at once, instead of in stages. They don’t get quite as crispy, but it will save you many hot oil burns and splatters. Lol.

    You should have also gotten lingonberry saft from IKEA! Or elderflowerberry saft. Saft is like a flavored syrup that you mix with plain water and is very popular in Scandinavia.

    P.S. This is Chad’s Sarah talking. And I’m Swedish, so I know Swedish food. And seriously love IKEA. Next time you go buy the gooseberry preserves. Amazing.

    • couchcuisine says:

      Ooh, good idea about the oven. Yeah, I realized after the meal that I could have gotten lingonberry from Ikea. Next time! I’ll definitely make these again, they were so delicious! I’m officially a fan of Swedish food 🙂

Leave a Reply

