Velbekomme! – Denmark

Denmark: Cheese Danish

In Denmark a danish is a pastry, because it’s in Denmark it’s inherently Danish, or something like that 🙂

Cheese danishes are one of my favorite things, though I rarely indulge in them. So I was excited to make a cheese danish for Denmark, though this is kind of a cheater version. I looked at a variety of recipes for authentic Danish pastries, and it’s quite complicated to do from scratch. Since I was cooking midweek of a busy week, I went the shortcut route and used an Ina Garten recipe, one of my favorite Food Network folks. Here’s her easy cheese danish recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/easy-cheese-danish-recipe/index.html

This recipe was made even easier by the fact that I am the proud new owner of a KitchenAid mixer! I’m super excited about it. I’ve been wanting one for years, and now that I have one I feel like a real adult 🙂 Part of the reason I’ve been a bit MIA on this project is that May was a busy month, and of the things that kept me busy was graduating! Much of my amazing family was able to come to celebrate with me, which was really special and meant a lot to me. My Connecticut family all chipped in together and bought me my very own KitchenAid mixer! Here’s the beautiful CT crew with me at graduation, who were so very generous with their gift [Picture courtesy of my cousin Lisa who took the picture and also contributed to my gift]:

And here’s my awesome mixer! I’m already planning all the cool things I can make with it.

Isn’t it beautiful? 🙂

Another very exciting thing related to graduation and this project is that my graduation gift from my parents is a trip to Europe next year 🙂 We’ll likely go to Italy and Greece. Beyond excited about that!!!

So, back to cheese danish.  Here are the ingredients:

Using my mixer to combine the ingredients, which is SO much easier than using my cheap hand-held one I used to use.


Gotta love the ease of puff pastry.

Cut into four squares [Note: I halved the recipe].

Add a dollop of creamy goodness into the center:

Brush with egg was and fold together:

Bake, and enjoy!

My friends Rae and Angela and I had dinner together, and this is what I brought for dessert. I baked it right before serving it so it was toasty warm when eating it.

Notes for Next Time:

This is a really easy recipe and tastes good, one I will definitely use again and would be great for guests. There are lots of variation you could make for the filling. I think I used a bit too much lemon because this tasted like a lemon danish, some of the cheese flavor was lost in the lemon. But, I love lemon so it’s okay!

 

 

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Velbekomme! – Denmark

  1. Dd- says:

    Nice mixer – keep it kinda shiny too eh?? lemon danish you are too cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

