Bon Appetit! – France

France: Boeuf Bourguignon a la Julia Child


Today was my first country, and I decided to start with France. I’ve been wanting to make Julia Child’s recipe for boeuf bourguignon since I saw/read Julie and Julia and decided this would be the perfect opportunity to make it. I used this recipe, all 45 steps of it:

http://www.food.com/recipe/boeuf-bourguignon-a-la-julia-child-148007

It was definitely time consuming, but really fun to make. I shopped for ingredients at Reading Terminal Market, made even more fun by a visit to my friend who owns a bakery at the market.

Here are the beautiful ingredients for the dish:

Look how pretty those carrots are!

I’m not going to recopy the recipe and the steps, but I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. EXCEPT that I did not make my own beef stock thank you very much TJ’s:

…and I mistakenly sliced the mushrooms instead of quartering them. Oops. Hopefully Julia wouldn’t be too disappointed. Here are some pics of the process. I need to learn more about photographing food.

These onions took awhile to peel, and elicited a few tears.

After 3 hours of cooking:

The lovely friends I shared the meal with: 

L to R: Johnny, Angela, Erica, Rae, Emily

Another one with me in it:

I served the bb over noodles, and thanks to everyone’s contributions we also had French wine, a French inspired salad, bread and French crepes! Delicious.


We all really enjoyed the meal, the beef was really tender and flavorful.

We had a great time sharing a meal, listening to French music, and chatting.

Emily brought yummy crepes for dessert, thanks to her awesome husband for making them! I didn’t take the greatest picture, but here they are:

They were delicious, tasting much better than this photo looks. Here’s how Justin made the crepes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1DgmbMMOgA

Toppings were Golden Delicious apples, sliced almonds and honey as well as strawberry, nutella, whip cream. So yummy!

Notes for next time:

I would definitely make this again. Next time I think I would use a bit less bacon, as the bacon flavor kind of overpowered the wine and beef. I would also follow the directions and quarter the mushrooms 🙂 And perhaps I would use a modified recipe that wasn’t quite so involved. But I really enjoyed making this, a successful first couch cuisine endeavor!

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bon Appetit! – France

  1. Linda says:

    You are going to have a blast doing this. I like the top of your blog. Very cool. It will be very interesting to follow. I loved that movie also. In fct, I;m ready to watch it again.

  2. Dad says:

    B/B looked great – pix were great too – nice touch on the pretty carrots and TJ’s beef stock – shortcuts are not the enemy 🙂

Leave a Reply

