Local and Global

I’ve recently been thinking more and more about the importance of eating locally, especially after reading the book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver.

While this may seem at odds with my plan to eat globally in 2011 by trying dishes inspired by cuisines from around the world, I’m going to try to merge the two by using as many local ingredients as possible.

It’s almost 2011!

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Local and Global

  1. Justin says:

    I’m looking forward to joining whenever you want to have us over!

    If we make you a dinner that is local to one of the countries on your list, does that count or do you have to make them?

    • couchcuisine says:

      Well, my initial idea was that I would make all 50 meals (with the help of people who have a particular interest in a country) since cooking is part of what I want to get out of the experience. My plan for Mealshare is to make each one a potluck so that it doesn’t affect the meter, and people can bring dessert or drinks if they want to bring something. We’ll see, though, I may adjust down the road.

Leave a Reply

