My initial thought

I love traveling, but my current budget does not allow for very much of it. Instead I watch the Travel Channel. I also have recently started really enjoying cooking and wanting to learn more about cooking. I think it’s fascinating how cuisine varies in different places around the world, and how food is such an integral part of culture.

 

I also like goals. So, combining all of that I thought, wouldn’t it be fun, interesting, informative and tasty to cook one meal from a different country each week (or most weeks) next year? I can’t start now, because finishing my dissertation is taking up most of my brain space and my time. But, wouldn’t that be a fun plan for 2011? I’m fortunate to live in a city with access to lots of international grocery stores and markets.

 

My thought is I could plan to make meals from 50 different countries during 2011. I think I would learn a lot.

 

About couchcuisine

I like traveling, cooking and eating...especially with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My initial thought

  1. DaD says:

    So, it’s Friday nov 5, we should give the date some kinda special name – Melodyland Liberation Day will work for now, may tweek that down the road 🙂 Congratulationz

  2. Dad says:

    So, it’s the day before the day B4 – have fun with this; I like the blending of international cuisine/ culture with local grown produce- nice touch – enjoy

  3. DaD says:

    Wow – Iraqi meal – good on ya – looked great – and cute side bars here and there like saffron and slicing your own almonds – lotta work but the pix were cute – specially the spices. Interesting colonization tidbit – main ingredient for unrest in the area eh??!!!!!

Leave a Reply

